GamesCom 2014: Press Day In Brief

gamescom-2014-halo-2-anniversary-multiplayer-sanctuary-concept-ruins-789723738b4c4b0aae6a6c438fa821fb

My first day at Gamescom culminated in an ongoing experience involving beautiful graphics and fresh perspectives. 

This will be brief but a more comprehensive report will follow later.

My first port of call was, of course, Halo. I was the first in line. After a brief wait I was introduced to the revamped graphical remake of Sanctuary. The game was a joy to look at, and a joy to play. It felt so smooth and was a vast improvement over the previous, ageing original. More to come…

DSCN0066

I also got to see or play a variety of other titles today. Mortal Kombat X, The Division, Quantum Break, Lego Batman 3, Evolve, Assassin’s Creed Unity, Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare, Far Cry 4, Forza Horizon 2, Shadow of Mordor and Alien Isolation. The one thing I could take from today was that the next generation has truly arrived. Everything looks so much better now than before, down to the power of the next-gen consoles, but I’m also interested in seeing if the aforementioned titles are also great to play, and value for money. And I have to say that there isn’t a single title that I wouldn’t buy. But the stand out titles from today were:

  • The Division (so much potential, great to look at)
  • Alien Isolation (the only game that has made me cower in a digital corner)
  • Evolve (a fresh approach)
  • Far Cry 4 (such a beautiful game, and great to play)

DSCN0053

That doesn’t mean the others were bad. Far from it. But these are the one’s that do things differently or are just plain gorgeous to look at. But I’ll go into far more detail over the next day or so.

Leave a Reply

