Gallery

Competition Time: Kilo-5

IMG_1436

A Secrets Within Giveaway! The Kilo-Five Trilogy by Karen Traviss.

Courtesy of Karen Traviss and Macmillan publishers, I have the full Kilo-5 trilogy to give away to one lucky individual. To enter all you need to do is comment on this article (below), stating your favourite Halo fiction moment of all time. By fiction I mean an event that takes place within any medium of the franchise (video games, novels, or live action footage) that is officially recognised as canon. Simply state what it is and why you like it.

The winner will be announced by Friday and will be the recipient of the books you see above. It doesn’t matter where you’re from, as long as DHL can get there.

Halo Glasslands by Karen Traviss:

The Covenant has collapsed after a long, brutal war that saw billions slaughtered on Earth and her colonies. For the first time in decades, however, peace finally seems possible. But though the fighting’s stopped, the war is far from over: it’s just gone underground. The UNSC’s feared and secretive Office of Naval Intelligence recruits Kilo-Five, a team of ODSTs, a Spartan, and a diabolical AI to accelerate the Sangheili insurrection. Meanwhile, the Arbiter, the defector turned leader of a broken Covenant, struggles to stave off civil war among his divided people.

Across the galaxy, a woman thought to have died on Reach is actually very much alive. Chief scientist Dr. Catherine Halsey broke every law in the book to create the Spartans, and now she’s broken some more to save them. Marooned with Chief Mendez and a Spartan team in a Forerunner slipspace bubble hidden in the destroyed planet Onyx, she finds that the shield world has been guarding an ancient secret – a treasure trove of Forerunner technology that will change everything for the UNSC and mankind.

As Kilo-Five joins the hunt for Halsey, humanity’s violent past begins to catch up with all of them as disgruntled colony Venezia has been biding its time to strike at Earth, and its most dangerous terrorist has an old, painful link with both Halsey and Kilo-Five that will test everyone’s loyalty to the limit.

The Thursday War by Karen Traviss:

This is a life-or-death mission for ONI’s black-ops team, Kilo-Five, which is tasked with preventing the rutheless Elites, once the military leaders of the Covenant, from regrouping and threatening humankind again. What began as a routine dirty-tricks operation – keeping the Elites busy with their own insurrection – turns into a desperate bid to extract one member of Kilo-Five from the seething heart of an alien civil war.

But troubles never come singly for Kilo-Five. Colonial terrorism is once again surfacing on one of the worlds that survived the war against the Covenant, and the man behind it is much more than just a name to Spartan-010. Meanwhile, the treasure trove of Forerunner technology recovered from the shield world of Onyx is being put to work. And a kidnapped Elite plots vengeance on the humans he fears will bring his people to the brink of destruction.

Mortal Dictata by Karen Traviss:

Wars end. But hatred, guilt, and devotion can endure beyond the grave.

With the Covenant War over, the Office of Naval Intelligence faces old grievances rising again to threaten Earth. The angry, bitter colonies, still with scores to settle from the insurrection put on hold for thirty years, now want justice-and so does a man whose life was torn apart by ONI when his daughter was abducted for the SPARTAN-II program.

Black ops squad Kilo-Five find their loyalties tested beyond breaking point when the father of their Spartan comrade, still searching for the truth about her disappearance, prepares to glass Earth’s cities to get an answer. How far will Kilo-Five go to stop him? And will he be able to live with the truth when he finds it? The painful answer lies with a man long dead, and a conscience that still survives in the most unlikely, undiscovered place.

 

KarenTraviss-150About the author

I’m English, I live in England, and I write English English (except for the spelling) but most people think of me as a US author because that’s where the bulk of my business and my readers are. (Which has thoroughly messed up my spelling when it comes to -ised and -ized.) Writing novels, screenplays, and comics is my full-time job. But I still think of myself as that noblest of God’s monkey-boys – a news journalist. I still have a hard-wired urge to chase fire engines and harass politicians, or even harass fire engines. I planned to keep my hand in as a spin-doctor, too – fluent Weasel spoken here, and my vitriol could make Malcolm Tucker cry – but I found my evil persuasive powers were best used to enhance my own image, thanks very much.

Like most writers, I’ve been around a bit. Much of my working life has been spent as a TV and newspaper reporter. At one time or another I’ve taught journalism, and been an advertising copywriter, a police media spokesweasel, a public relations manager and a defence correspondent. I spent time in the Royal Naval Auxiliary Service (now disbanded, alas) and the Territorial Army. But bear in mind that the most hazardous thing I’ve ever faced was a Royal Navy meat pie. (No discernible lumps: slurry en croûte.) I’m not GI Jane. Don’t include me with the fine men and women who do a truly dangerous job in our armed forces, both as regulars and reservists, because I have the privilege of knowing many of them, and they’re the real deal, and I am not.

I freely admit to having a terrible fountain pen habit. And then there’s the pencils. And the gadgets. I also believe that the main food groups are pork scratchings, coffee, avocados, Assam tea, pumpkin, and Caesar salad. Given the ever-changing contradictory bollocks that most nutritionists spout, I’m as likely to be right as they are, as well as a lot happier.

That’s all the personal detail you’re going to get. People (especially youngsters doing school projects) mail me to ask where they can find out more, and my answer is that there isn’t any more. I advise people never to post personal details on the internet, and I practice what I preach. If you really want to publish all the information your bank uses to identify you, that’s your look-out, but just bear in mind that there are lots of expert data-miners like me out there who can use the most innocuous information quite legally to access even more stuff you probably wouldn’t want to be made public. And that’s without all the scammers harvesting info to use illegally. If in doubt – leave it out.

20 comments on “Competition Time: Kilo-5

  1. Coincidentally my favorite moment or moments is/are the dynamic that Karen brought to the S-IIs and S-IIIs along with Mendez and Halsey in Trevelyan before it was brought back into normal space. This evolution of these characters could only have been accomplished by an author like Karen, and the entire experience culminated in such an emotional climax with Lucy and Halsey that reading that chapter gave me chills.

  2. The moment that affected me the most in the entire franchise? Cortana’s farewell in Halo 4. I’ve been a fan since a little after Halo 2, my first game was Halo 1, I’ve played every game since and tried to keep up with the novels and some of the comics. I love the Nylund books. But I think the piece of content that best represents what the Master Chief and Cortana is about is Halo 4 – the Chief, the unstoppable juggernaut of destruction, the tip of the human spear, finally helpless to save one of the few remaining people in his life, someone he’s been through so much with. Her, the incredibly powerful AI who saved the galaxy, who has battled gods and demons, fought off her own insanity, finally coming to terms with her own end, and saying goodbye. Halo 4 has some flaws, but in story terms, the Chief’s and Cortana’s story was one of the most moving in the history of the series.

  3. My favourite moment in the Halo would be the betrayal of 032 Medicate Bias and the battle of the capital. So much trust was put into this Ancilla by the Forerunners, and since it was Contender-class it could seize control of virtually any computer system it wanted – locking up the armor of the highest Forerunners in the council and ordering the Halo’s firing was a tragic tipping point in the Forerunner-flood war.

    This whole quote sums up everything I’m trying to say, and brings a tear to my eye every time:

    “I kill you all and I enjoy it. I destroy you in you indolent billions–in your gluttony, in you self-righteousness, in your arrogance. I pound your cities into dust; turn back the clock on your civilization’s progress. What has taken you millennia to achieve I erase in seconds.”

    Imagine hearing that as your entire race is being slaughtered and you can do nothing about it?! :P

  4. Aww man, thats hard because I have favorite moments of almost everything from the media and games.

    BUT if I had to decide here and now, my all time favorite moment is when in Halo 2, you were introduced to Delta Halo AKA Installation 05. you go through the entire first game thinking you stopped a giant ring world super-weapon from blowing the universe sky high only to find out theirs more of these things and each ring is different so its not exactly like walking the same ground as before. not only that but you find out that your enemies are already on the new Halo getting ready for your visit and that the greatest threat in the galaxy is on this ring too and this time they have a boss to rile them all together making them 10 times more of the threat they were before.

    But as you go through all that in your head, your also given this amazing presentation of this new Halo from the amazing skyboxes to the new areas never seen on the first Halo, like the ruins.I loved the part where Master Chief and the marines (if they were alive during this part, shame on you if you didn’t give your allies good weapons during this mission they are quite helpful) would float around in the ocean transports and while Cortana is chattering something about prophets hating on each other or something, your staring at the ocean floor and unknown sea life with this pleasant music accompanying the whole sequence. really glad we get to have 2 sequences of that.

    And while on the gondola ride heading to bash a prophets skull in with your fist you just sit back on this million years old machine looking around at the ocean below, the skies above, and the mountains your passing it brings a sense of peace to you and you forget that this ring is a living weapon…until an elite ranger comes out of nowhere and decides to be a troll to your quiet time.

    The Arbiter had some great moments on Delta Halo too, I liked the battle against the Brutes in the creekbed and mountains, it was just you against the brute bastards that took your jobs and killed your comrades, you and your small team of elites are ready to dish payback and if you armed them correctly you waste everything in sight, then when you get to the half pipe tunnel creekbed you get to have fun blowing up the fusion coils with your beam rifle and causing panic while pissing off the brutes.

    Delta Halo was always an enjoyable experience for me and I can’t wait to re-live the whole experience again in HD.

  5. I would have to say that my absolute favorite moment is when Captain Keyes executes what would later be dubbed, “The Keyes Loop.”

    Probably one of few times ship combat was a super enjoyable read.

  6. This is a really hard one, I grew up with Halo after all. Part of me feels like putting down the awe of when you first see Halo in CE, or one of the many other scenes from the trilogy Bungie made. But for my choice, I have to say this, I’ve been playing Halo since I was two or three, played it with my dad who introduced me to games, and played it with my little brother as one of his first games before Halo 2 came out. My dad no longer had the time for the Campaigns, and played only the multiplayer a little, so from then on I always played Halo with my little brother. I remember when three came out I almost played it alone, same with Reach, but me and him always beat them together. Except for ODST, that game was meant to be played alone, and it was wonderful. Anyway, when I heard Bungie was no longer making Halo I was pretty sad, I had read the books and played the games, and now the series would end at what seemed to be when gaming would reach new heights. I then heard that 343 would be making Halo, and was really excited, until I began thinking it might not be any good. I held this pessimistic opinion until I saw the trailers, and then pre-ordered Halo 4 with newfound excitement. I finally got it, and yet again, me and my brother jumped back in, although sadly, as my younger brother got older, he wasn’t as interested in games like Halo, and our taste in games started to differ. We still play games all the time of course, but our favorites are different, and we usually criticize the other’s. Anyway, me and my brother got Halo 4, and when we got home, we played it through to the end on normal (I always go back and play the Halos on Legendary, even beat all the Spartan Ops on legendary, did a few LASOs, and got all the Vidmasters.) It was amazing, the combat, graphics, story, and even though it was short, it was a wonderful experience. Anyway, when the final mission came, me and my brother were filled with Adrenaline, but I had heard of many sad rumors about the ending of Halo 4, so I also had a little bit of worry. We finally got to the Didact, and whether it was me, or my brother who pressed the button, we got him on the first try. When Chief tried moving toward the beam, I started to move impatiently, as large amount of people were being harvested. Then, when Chief looked down at the nuke, I knew what the game wanted me to do, and without any hesitation, I did it, watching as my favorite character screamed in defiance and sacrificed himself to save others with a dramatic slam of his palm. For a moment, I wondered whether or not I had sacrificed one of my favorite characters ever, as we had already lost Cortana, but Chief survived, it was kinda like a miracle in my mind. So if I had to choose my favorite moment, I it would be that, Chief sacrificing himself, like the hero he is always portrayed as. Anyway, sorry for the long wall of text

  7. My favorite Halo fiction moment is from Silentium.

    When the Flood is approaching the Greater Ark to attack the remaining Forerunners, the Ur-Didact goes to Omega Halo and composes the Librarian’s human population. This is shown from the perspective of Monitor Chakas who is asked by the Librarian to evacuate the human population. During the evacuation, Chakas sees the Ur-Didact’s ship approaching Halo and charging the Composer. And Chakas hears the Librarian suddenly beginning to panic over what is about to happen and being powerless to stop what her husband is about to do. The loss of humans is so devastating that the Librarian is left enraged over how all the Ur-Didact has ever done is kill her children.

    I like this moment because of the way the events are written in the book paints a clear picture of what is happening around the characters and what they are feeling. The actions of the Ur-Didact become a critical turning point in his relationship with the Librarian. Having betrayed his wife, the Ur-Didact’s actions gives the Librarian resolve to confront her husband and imprison him which then becomes part of the Halo 4 story line.

  8. Simply put: a one-second moment in the level “Guilty Spark,” in the classic Halo.*

    As the Chief enters a locked room, easing one dead body to the floor, he notices a discarded helmet. When he picks it up and examines it, he gives a slight shake of his head.

    That moment right there was powerful for me. It told me a great deal about the Master Chief’s character with one subtle gesture. You can practically hear the hiss of breath from his nose as he thinks of how many dead soldiers he’s seen. While his reputation and the comments made by other characters throughout the game have established he’s a storied veteran, that little shake of his head showed me he’s an old and tired warrior.

    I felt my heart bleed for him a little, and in that moment, Halo was no longer just another video game. It was a true narrative.

    (*: And I do mean classic. The remade Anniversary cutscene throws the subtle genius of the motion out the window entirely.)

  9. Loving these comments, folks. It’s going to be hard for me to decide. But for those who don’t get picked, fear not. I have plenty more stuff up for grabs over the coming weeks, including Worlds End on Blu-ray (starring Simon Pegg & Nick Frost), and a selection of PS3 and Xbox 360 games; Arkham Origins, The Last of Us, GTA V, and Marvel Lego Superheroes.

  10. I love absolutely everything about halo, always have from the very first game. My friend got the system before me, and we started playing at his place right away. I still think my fondest moment, was when you get about halfway thru attack of the control room on the first game, and we were listening to the new iron maiden greatest hits album on his pc. We got to the part where you make it thru the chasm, and your trying to storm up the hill, but there’s the ghosts and elites and grunts all trying to keep you from making it. We had failed so many times trying to make it on legendary.

    Then “run to the hills” came on, on the maiden cd, and everything just clicked, the song starts out with the drums and we stormed thru the pillars at the bottom of the chasm, by that time the lyrics for “run tot he hills” started and we ran for that hill, up the side ramp and crested the ridge, then “run for your lives” lyrics played, and everything seemed perfectly timed with the music, perfectly synced like a movie, it was incredible. We blasted thru all the enemies like clockwork, seamlessly.

    The three of us were awe struck, saying to each other “omg we did it” and I was like “I love that song”! That by far, has been my fondest memory playing the game and from reading the books. I have all the games, books, comics, everything that I can get my hands on for story material. So I don’t need to win this, I just wanted to share my moment. The only thing I wish we had done was to video us playing and the cd playing in the background, I really wish I had that.

  11. And the winner is….

    …captraspberry! So get in touch and provide me with your details.

    Choosing a winner was extremely difficult, and I’d like to thank everyone for their contribution. Don’t despair, more competitions will be along in the very near future.

    I love these subtle moments in Halo. And this is another example of that. For me, personally, it’s the moment when the Chief is reunited with Cortana in Halo 3. He moved by the situation and all you have to exhibit that is his subtle body language. But once he’s sure Cortana is fine, he’s back on task — focussed on their next mission, their next task.

    So congratulations, captraspberry.

Leave a Reply

